Immigration News
  • Matkowsky Immigration Law

Express Entry changes- CRS scoring

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has made changes to the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) for the Express Entry immigration system.

These changes are significant and will have a major effect on candidates for immigration to Canada through the three federal programs managed through Express Entry: the Federal Skilled Worker Class, the Federal Skilled Trades Class, and the Canadian Experience Class.

The most significant changes included the points awarded for job offers and points awarded for Canadian study experience.

Find out more on Express Entry selection system or use our new calculator to Calculate your Express Entry CRS score to see what your chances would be to get an ITA.

LMIA and LMIA-Exempt Jobs

Previously, job offers supported by a positive LMIA (Labour Market Impact Assessment) gave a candidate 600 points under CRS. As of November 19, 2016, candidates will be awarded 200 or 50 points, depending on the job position.

Points will also now be awarded to candidates who have a job offer that is LMIA-exempt, such as those granted under international agreements such as NAFTA.

In order to qualify for additional CRS points, the candidate must:

  • have at least 1 year of work experience from the same employer who is providing their job offer

  • the job offer must be for at least 1 year.

  • be working under the North America Free Trade Agreement

  • be working under a federal-provincial agreement

  • be working under Mobilité Francophone o